Start Saving These Things Now

I have a tendency to hoard things. No, not like the show that recently premiered on TLC about people who never throw away a single thing, and let garbage fill up their homes. What I mean by “hoarding” is that I have a stockpile of things that I do not use in my everyday life now, but I know they will someday soon literally save my life, and the lives of my family. I keep what looks like barrels o’ junk, but are actually valuable resources that will allow me to maintain my garden during a crisis. I’ve been doing this for a good ten years now, but over the past couple years during the recession, my inclination has been to save even more, while spending hardly any money on these items.

I’ve created a stockpile of supplies that, when stores are closed and the nation’s food supply is null, I can use to tend and harvest my vegetables. So, in other words, these are things that YOU should start to hoard, too. None of them take up that much room. I keep all of my supplies in a couple open-headed straight sided 55 gallon plastic drums that I store in my tool shed. If you’ll be keeping your supplies outdoors rather than in a shed or garage, just make sure to get a rust proof drum, and seal it completely. In my plastic drums, I keep:

  1. A shovel. I have a basic spade made of metal.
  2. Plastic trash bags. I store the heavy clear plastic kind, as these tend to hold up well. You can store any kind of used or unused plastic bags. These can be used for a variety of purposes, one of which is making a solar water distiller to get fresh, clean drinking water.
  3. Scraps of tin, aluminum siding, and styrofoam. These can be used to direct rainwater onto your plants in your garden. They can also be used to create sunlight shades, or reflect additional light onto your plants.
  4. Bags of organic fertilizer. You don’t need fertilizer in order for your open pollinated seeds from your Survival Seed Bank to grow. But it sure won’t hurt your chances of a decent crop.
  5. Plastic buckets. Don’t save anything larger than what you can comfortably carry. When you have no running water, you will need to carry buckets of water from the closest lake or stream, or other natural water source, to your garden.
  6. A small garden rake, knife, and hoe. These are used to keep your soil healthy by tilling and fluffing it.
  7. Wire. Bits of metal wire, mesh wire, and basic bailing wire. This will protect my garden from rabbits, deer, and other veggie-munching critters. You can also use it to bind sticks and other natural elements together to make fences, or a trellis for tomatoes, squash, and other climbing plants to grow on.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

